bitterness

April 28, 2010

“if you can eat bitter, you can withstand a bitter life” , you told me in the computer science club the Chinese have this saying.

now simon, 10 years later, the city all around like jewels on the dark velvet of the night

the taste of that sublime moo manao, the work of an uassuming street-side genius, a delicate blend of bitter gourd, chinese brocoli, raw garlic, chili, cabbage

tonight i eat my bitterness.

even if you are gone, gone into my memories, gone into forever without you, how can I lose someone who is as close to me as my own skin, as my own eyes, that is my own flesh?

the fair down the road, underneath, sounds and lights coming up so high to my window, a ferris wheel

felt university

felt waterloo, the beigeness of it, the endless fluorescent lights and the endless math assignments until 5 am with endless nerds, ambition, it’s relentless grinding wheel, achievement

felt Simon’s ancestors, the kind of determination it takes to leave all in China and make a new life in a land that would be as foreign to them as Thailand is to me, not for a time, but forever, to change the citizenship, to take another world, another name, another face.

In the future, all art will be immigrant art. Immigration, to be foreign, to make a bridge between two worlds will become the most influential human experience.

Leave a comment